Three Gamecocks on the Coaches All-SEC Team


The preseason honors continue to pile up for South Carolina Gamecocks wide out Pharoh Cooper.  The SEC Coaches released their all conference teams today, and Pharoh made the list, three times over.  He was named to the All-SEC 1st team as a wide receiver, a return specialist, and as the all-purpose player on offense.  His versatility and unique skill set helped him explode on the college football scene last year, and the expectations for him in 2015 are only getting bigger.  Cooper, a junior from Havelock, NC, has also been named to ESPN’s all SEC 1st team, and is on the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, given to the top player in college football.  While the praise and honors for Pharoh continue to mount, he was not alone on the Coaches All- SEC team.  Fellow Gamecocks Brandon Shell (OT) and Elliot Fry (K) both made the 3rd team.  For the first time in quite a while, the Gamecocks will not have anyone represented among the preseason All-SEC defense selections; though I do believe Skai Moore should have received some consideration.  That omission can just add to the motivation fueling a defense to make up for the embarrassment it suffered through last season.

Here is a look at the full list of the Coaches All-SEC teams.



TE — Evan Engram, Ole Miss

OL — Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss; Vadal Alexander, LSU; Cam Robinson, Alabama; John Theus, Georgia

C — Mike Matthews, Texas A&M

WR — Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina; Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss

QB — Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

RB — Nick Chubb, Georgia; Leonard Fournette, LSU

AP — Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina


DL — Myles Garrett, Texas A&M; Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss; A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama; Chris Jones, Mississippi State

LB — Reggie Ragland, Alabama; Curt Maggitt, Tennessee; Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

DB — Vernon Hargreaves, Florida; Cyrus Jones, Alabama; Jalen Mills, LSU; Jonathan Jones, Auburn


PK – Marshall Morgan, Georgia

P –  JK Scott, Alabama

RS –  Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina



TE – Hunter Henry, Arkansas

OL – Dan Skipper, Arkansas; Greg Pyke, Georgia; Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M; Denver Kirkland, Arkansas

C — Ryan Kelly, Alabama

WR — D’haquille Williams, Auburn; Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia

QB — Maty Mauk, Missouri

RB — Derrick Henry, Alabama; Alex Collins, Arkansas

AP — Leonard Fournette, LSU


DL — Jonathan Bullard, Florida; Derek Barnett, Tennessee; Jonathan Allen, Alabama; Montravius Adams, Auburn

LB — Antonio Morrison, Florida; Kentrell Brothers, Missouri; Kendell Beckwith, LSU

DB — Will Redmond, Mississippi State; Tre’Davious White, LSU; Cameron Sutton, Tennessee; Tony Conner, Ole Miss


PK — Austin MacGinnis, Kentucky

P — Jamie Keehn, LSU

RS —  Leonard Fournette, LSU *; Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia *



TE – O.J. Howard, Alabama

OL – Alex Kozan, Auburn; Sebastian Tretola, Arkansas; Devonte Danzey, Auburn; Jordan Swindle, Kentucky *; Brandon Shell, South Carolina *

C –  Evan Boehm, Missouri

WR – Demarcus Robinson, Florida *; Travin Dural, LSU *; Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M *

QB — Jeremy Johnson, Auburn *; Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee *

RB — Jonathan Williams, Arkansas; Russell Hansbrough, Missouri; Kelvin Taylor, Florida

AP —  Speedy Noil, Texas A&M


DL —  Carl Lawson, Auburn; Davon Godchaux, LSU; Caleb Azubike, Vanderbilt; Ryan Brown, Mississippi State

LB —  Leonard Floyd, Georgia; Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn; Lorenzo Carter, Georgia

DB – A.J. Stamps, Kentucky; Rohan Gaines, Arkansas; Trae Elston, Ole Miss; Johnathan Ford, Auburn; Eddie Jackson, Alabama


PK —  Elliott Fry, South Carolina

P —  Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

RS —  Darrius Sims, Vanderbilt; Speedy Noil, Texas A&M