Three Gamecocks Named to Outland Trophy Watch List


South Carolina was one of only six teams who had three players named to the 2014 Outland Trophy watch list–Corey Robinson, A.J. Cann, and Brandon Shell.

One of the other teams with three players named was the Gamecocks’ first opponent on August 28: Texas A&M. The other schools with three each were Alabama, Auburn, Florida State, and Oregon. The SEC led the entire nation with 19 players selected, which was eight more than the next closest conference, the PAC-12.

Cann, a redshirt senior, leads the team with 38 starts over the past three seasons. He was a permanent team captain last season, a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, and All-SEC selection. He will also be representing the Gamecocks at the upcoming SEC media day. At 6’4″ and 318 lbs., combined with his experience, he gives the Gamecocks a solid middle of the line for the upcoming season.

Robinson (6’8″, 348 lbs.) is also a redshirt senior who started every game last year and has 22 total starts in his career. Playing next to Cann, the left side of the line should be a huge strength for the Gamecocks, as well as give Dylan Thompson plenty of protection on his blindside. He initially started his career with South Carolina on the defense but fortunately was moved back to his natural position on the offensive line.

Shell is a redshirt junior who started every game as well last season and has 23 total starts in his career. At 6’6″ and 334 lbs, he is a very solid right tackle who should help provide plenty of running room for the Gamecocks.  The Goose Creek native is also the nephew of former NFL Hall of Fame player Art Shell.  Shell is also a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

The Outland Trophy Award is selected annually by the Football Writers Association of America.  Only interior offensive and defensive lineman are considered, as ends are not eligible.  The writers first select the 26 first-team players before voting on three finalists, and ultimately the Outland Trophy Winner.  This year’s winner will be the 69th such winner, named after John Outland, an All-American lineman from the University of Penn back at the turn of the century.  Last year’s winner, Aaron Donald from the University of Pittsburgh, ended up being selected by the St. Louis Rams as the 13th overall pick in the NFL draft.